Second Week of NaNo

30557

So I survived the second week of NaNo despite not writing for two days.

I’m currently a little over 30K words and I’m dumbfounded. The last two years, I’ve had to write between 20-30K words in the last two days of NaNoWriMo. Now, it’s looking like I might hit the 50K before the end of November. Which I’ve only done one or two other times.

(Recap: this is my 9th year participating)

I think one of the reasons, and I mentioned this on Instagram already, I’m doing better than I expected is that I’m trying not to feed into the high or the excitement of being ahead because I know there are going to be more tough days coming up – namely Thanksgiving.

I feel like my word count is a ghost or supernatural spirit (look at me being on brand). If I notice it, it’ll notice me, and then it will make my life a living hell. So by not acknowledging it or feeding into that excitement, I’m more focused and I’m not as hard on myself when I can’t write/don’t have the energy to write.

As mentioned above, I didn’t write for two days this last week but I was okay with it. I knew I was fine writing wise and was able to do a little self care in the form of dying my hair blue. I’m still not sure if it was 100% because I missed having blue hair or I’ve finally hit the “hair dying” level of quarantine. But either way, those serotonin levels were just ::chef’s kiss:: phenomenal.

I hope yall are hanging in there!

-K.


  • Day 8 – 16007
  • Day 9 – 17123
  • Day 10 – 20350
  • Day 11 – 21086
  • Day 12 – 21086
  • Day 13 – 22985
  • Day 14 – 26062

Leave a comment